EGIF Scholarship

EGIF Scholarship Program

Edward G. Irvin Foundation Scholarship – $5,000 ($1,250 disbursed annually over 4 years)

Summerowner Scholarship  $1,000 (one time award)


Eligibility Requirements for Scholarship Applicants

  • Graduating high school male of African-American descent;
  • Minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale);
  • Completion of ACT and/or SAT standard exam; and
  • Active participation in extracurricular activities and/or community service programs


Eligibility Requirements for Maintaining Scholarship

  • Submit official documentation certifying enrollment in an accredited four (4) year college or university;
  • Maintain a minimum 2.75 GPA each semester and on a cumulative basis for the duration college attendance. Official documentation certifying the required GPA must accompany enrollment data and must be received by the EGIF Scholarship Chairman before awards will be issued;
  • Any indecent, immoral or illegal activity shall constitute grounds for the termination of this award;
  • In the event that a scholarship recipient chooses to complete an intake program, join or undergo initiation in another social Greek Letter Organization, the scholarship awarded by the Chicago Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. will be discontinued. Moreover, it is our hope that the fellow organization will assume responsibility for providing the recipient with future financial assistance; and
  • To continue to receive this award, your credentials and eligibility will be reviewed on a semester basis.

Contact: Chicago Alumni Chapter, Scholarship Chairman, James Alexander

Click the image below to download the application and mail to:

Mr. James Alexander
Key Banc Capital Markets
227 West Monroe Street
17th Floor
Chicago, IL 60606





Read Kappa Kronicle Article:


Board of Directors 


Dr. Major Armstead

Vice President

Michael Hughes Sr.


Alvin Paul III


Walter Miller



James Alexander

Gregory Arnold

Cedric Bell

Glen Brooks

Emmit Horne Jr.

Deborah Killingsworth

Torrence Moore

Yaw K. Ofosu

Derek Robinson

Kevin Scott

Timothy Thomas Jr.

Byron C. Thornton Esq.



Reverend Dr. Leon Finney Jr.

Lester McKeever


Speech of Founder Edward G.Irvin

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.